So this it. Today is my last day of my journey.
But what did I do in the last weeks?
Well, I spent 2,5 weeks in Paradise in Little Corn Island. I went diving again to a place called "Blowing Rock". It's quite far away from Little Corn, 40 min by boat. I took the camera with me again and managed to take 300 pictures in 2 dives (ca. 1,5 hours). The coolest thing there were the sharks.
I left Little Corn on Friday, June 10th. This was a very interesting experience. I hadn't changed my ticket as I did not know when I would finally leave. So on that day I took the Panga (little boat) to Big Corn and went to the airport. There I wanted to buy a new ticket. But I was told to wait till 8 (in the morning) to see if there is a no-show as the flight is full, so I waited. There was also an american couple with me, they had changed their flight, but nobody at the airport did know about that, and nobody really cared. So I felt a bit stupid that I was so honest and wanted to buy a new ticket.
About 20 min later, a new (and friendly) woman was sitting at the counter, so I tried again (important: it was NOT 8 yet). I told her that I tried to change my ticket but have no idea if it worked as I had to call the airport again and again. And she told me that changing my ticket would cost me $15... well, that's acceptable. So my ticket was changed and I was on the flight. When we finally got on the plane, it was not even half full...
The plane then made a first stop in Bluefields. There, all the passengers in the back were asked to change their seats and take a seat further in the front. I asked the (very unmotivated) stewardess why... well, because it is necessary. We very quickly found out why. In the last row, a guy with cap, accompanied by 2 police-men was taking his seat. When we left the plane in Managua we could see that he had a towell above his hands - to mask the handcuffs. So obviously in Nicaragua criminals are transported in normal planes.
I spent one night in Managua and then went on to Playa del Coco in Costa Rica. The beach there is not worth seeing, diving there also is not so much of a big adventure, but I can say now that I dove in the Carribean and in the Pacific. Diving there, I saw some more sharks, this time white-tipped reef sharks. I had a very nice hotel with aircondition, kitchen in the room and swimming-pool and, very important - good working internet. So I stayed quite some time there, enjoying the luxurious life and doing some of the online-trainings required for the training next week.
And then finally, I went to San Jose. And what can I say, I hated it. The city is not very nice, it was raining a lot and the taxi-drivers do not understand adresses, have no idea about numbers and all lie to you. But I had a nice hostel and could manage to book a trip to Tortuguero for the next day.
So the next day I was picked up at my hostel at 6 in the morning to go to Tortuguero. This is a nice little very laid-back village in the Carribean. It is famous for the turtles nesting there. We first went about 4 hours by bus and then 2 more hours by boat. On the way there we already did some wildlife spotting and saw many different monkey, birds and butterflies.
In Tortuguero, we had a local guide showing us the village - that took us approximately 10 minutes, as it is really VERY small. But the beach is nice, although it's very dark sand and the waves are kind of rough. In the evening I did the turtle-tour although it is still not the nesting season. But we were successfull, we saw a sea turtle covering up the eggs and making her way back to the ocean. This was really very impressive and so cool!
The next morning we first had a 2 hours boat-tour in the canals around Tortuguero and then a 1 hour "hike" through the jungle. The hike basically was more like a, come on let's go for a nice walk and the jungle was not jungly at all, but it was nice.
And then it was already time to go back to San Jose again. But I still have to tell you something, the coolest thing that happened in Tortuguero. I stayed at a nice hostel there which also has a restaurant. And there I met Wendy, who was my diving-instructor in Honduras. Right now she is travelling in Costa Rica with her husband. It was so cool to meet her there at this completely remote spot in the middle of nowhere.
Back in San Jose I got the rest of my luggage and went to the bus for Panama. It was supposed to leave at 11 pm but, of course it was late. I slept most of the busride, until we reached the border. That was at 4:30 the next morning. We were told to get out of the bus, the sun was rising and it was cool. When everybody was out of the bus we were informed that the Costa Rican border will open at 6!!! and the Panamanian border at 7!!! So we had to wait there for hours. But okay, the time passed, I left Costa Rica, I entered Panama, I went back in the bus and straight back to sleep until we were almost in Panama City.
To get into Panama City you have to cross la Puenta Americas, a big bridge over the entrance to the canal on the pacific side. And right at the time when we were crossing the bridge, a big container-ship was on its way to the Pacific. Very cool view.
I stayed here in Panama for 4 days and I did quite some sightseeing. On the first day I explored the area around my hostel. It's the banking-area and there are so many sky-skrapers, unbelievable. And I went to Casco Viejo, a somewhat ancient area in Panama. On the second day then I went to the canal to one of the locks and spent 6 hours there watching the ships passing it. This is just so impressive. If you ever come to Panama, you have to watch the canal and the locks.
Today I went on one of the worlds most beautiful trainrides - from Panama City to Colon (the city on the carribean side of the canal). And the ride really is beautiful. At the beginning it is right along the canal - I saw a HUGE ship in the locks, and then it goes along the lakes and through the jungle. It just is wonderful.
And here the adventure stops. I am in my hostel, try to relax a bit, and will soon start packing my backpack again. Tomorrow I will be on planes most of the time and then finally arrive in Chicago.
Let's see if there happens anything worth talking about.
Heidi - einmal um die Welt
Donnerstag, 23. Juni 2011
Dienstag, 7. Juni 2011
2 Weeks in Paradise...
...and I still don't want to leave.
I arrived on Little Corn Island 2 weeks ago, I am staying in a little cabin directly at the beach and the only things between me and the ocean is 5 meters of beach on 2 palm-trees. The view is just beautiful and the weather is perfect, well - now.
When I arrived here, the weather was picture-postcard like for 3 days... when I was under water most of the time doing my Advanced Open Water Certificate. And then it started to rain. We wanted to do a Night-Dive on Sunday, but had to postpone it to Monday, due to bad weather (rain and storm), on Monday, we had to postpone it to Tuesday, and then to Wednesday, because the weather did not get better (it was even "cold" some time, the clothes wouldn't dry anymore but get damper and damper...) But finally we did the Night-Dive on Wednesday evening. I can say, I am not the biggest fan of Night-Dives. Everything is so dark (obviously), you only see, what your light allows you to see, and there are soo many small fishes and whatever around you, it feels like bugs. But the one thing which will make me do it again and again: Swimming with the stars (less romantically, you could also call it Bioluminsecence). At one point we knelt down in the sand (I still have troubles with that, but lying is okay as well) switched off our lights, waited a bit, and then moved our hands... and the stars came out... and then we just started swimming. There's just no way I can describe this experience, you have to do it yourself, but it feels like swimming through a million stars!
I also had one dive with a camera - underwater photography, this was real fun. I have to get a waterproof case for my own camera! But the coolest thing there... while doing our safety stop, some dolphins came along to say hello... and I can proof it, I have a video! On the same day I went fishing with some locals, they gave me a line, so that I was occupied, and I really caught a fish, which I then had prepared for me for dinner. And to make this day even more perfect, we saw a rainbow, when we were heading back to the island. It was wonderful.
Apart from that, I did not do very much here... in the first week I had a neighbour from Germany, and also 2 swiss girls stayed at Carlito's Place (where I am staying). We had dinner together every evening and also shared some bottles of Rum. I also met Richard, a guy from the US who has been living on this Island for 7 months now, and he wants to stay.
On Saturday he had a little "pig-party". The pig was shipped over from Nicaragua mainland (poor piggy, had to survive a 2 days boat-journey). And then the poor pig was killed, stuffed with vegetables and wrapped in Banana-leaves. This then was put in a hole in the sand in which a fire had beend burning on stones for the last 6 hours so that the stones are really hot. Then everything is covered with some more Banana-leaves and sand and you have to wait for 8 hours. (Apparently, this is a method from Hawaii and Richard read about it in the Internet and wanted to try it).
The result then is a well cooked but not very nicely looking pig and many many locals trying to get their share of it. I was there when the pig came out, but seeing how it then was being massacred, I did not wish to get a part of it... instead I ate som coconut bread, which is really delicious.
On Thursday the sun came back, and since then I am very busy swimming (not too much, I do not want to get exhausted) lying in my hammock and sitting on my porch. And believe me, this can really be exhausting as well. I get up round 6:15 in the morning (why is it so hard to get up this early when you have to go to work) and go on a walk for the beach for about 1 hour. And then I start reading... I am totally relaxed by now, don't care about the internet anymore and (that is the most important thing) finally managed to NOT check my work-e-mails anymore. But I must admit that I am reading "business"-books. I just finished reading "Blink" (nice to read, nice information, but I am not too sure about what the message really is...) Right now I am reading "Emotional Intelligence" and it really is interesting, but as I am not married (yet) the last parts haven't been very helpful for me. This morning I started with the part of emotional intelligence at work... let's see if it brings any new insights.
And I also started working on "The 7 habbits of highly effective people". For the AIESECers among you... NALDS all over again. I just finished the first 3 habbits and will soon start with the 4th one. This really is very intense and makes me think very much about the last 3 years and of course also about the future. But the good thing is, that the past has not been wasted. I am on a very good path to where and who I want to be, although I did not think about it too much in the past (apart from the sessions with my Erfolgs-Team which I now realize, helped me a lot).
The sad thing is, I have to leave Little Corn on Friday... because I still have to go all the way to Panama. But I will go scuba diving again tomorrow (finally my left hand is better, I have some nasty rash there, either it was the attempted murder-attack by the ants, or it is an allergy) and hopefully see some Hammerhead-Sharks and I will be scuba diving in Playa del Coco in Costa Rica (finally going to the beach at the Pacific). Maybe I will also go to the Caribean side in Costa Rica to see some turtles, but I first have to find out if there are turtles to see right now. And then I will head straight to Panama. There, apart from doing some sight-seeing, I (I can't believe it) have to do WORK... I received an e-mail that I am supposed to do 3 complete days of preparation for the training in Chicago... so this will be one of the main tasks in Panama.
So far for now, concerning that there is absolutely nothing happening on Little Corn Island, I had quite an interesting time.
And for those who miss me... I'll be back soon, July 4th is THE Day!
Freitag, 20. Mai 2011
On the chicken-bus to Utila
Maybe some of you already knew... but I wanted to do my PADI Open Water Diver Certificate in Honduras. Until the very last chance I did not really know whether I would go to Utila (small, cheap backpacker-style) or to Roatan (bigger, nicer, more expensive but with many beaches). Those are 2 of the bay islands and everybody should have seen at least one of them.
But first, I had to leave Copán. I chose the cheaper option which turned out to be a chicken-bus (old american yellow school bus) to San Pedro Sula and from there an express (supposed to be more modern, but well... supposed!!) bus which was definitely older and less comfortable than the chicken bus to go to "La Ceiba". There I finally had to decide and opted for Utila. I bought the ticket for the ferry and then had to wait.
Some really unfriendly man told us to pack our luggage on a small waggon so that it can be transported to the boat (they needed to transport it on the huge distance of 5! meters). The ferry itself is nothing special, it's small, completely closed and blue. It stinks inside... but at least I did not get seasick... I only felt a bit strange.
Arriving in Utila, about 10 people wanted to convince me, that their - and only their - diving school is the best one. I went with a guy who told me that his name is "Berlin" which I still do not believe and stayed at "Alton's". All the schools have more or less the same offer... come and stay, you have the first night free, so that you can "shop around" the next morning and decide for a school. Arriving at the school, I was greeted by a lovely instructor named Chris who told me everything about the school, how classes work, that they are the best because... blablabla....
Originally the plan was that I stay there for the first night and go find my school the next morning. But I was just so tired and the people seemend nice, the school was recommended in Lonely Planet, Sunset was perfect and the school was also recommended to me in Copan... so I just decided to stay there and get my certification there.
So on monday evening i already ment Wendy, a woman from Canada, who is working as a freelance-instructor with the school. Wendy isn't the youngest person anymore, but she is really lovely and caring and very experienced. We did some paperwork and then she told me that the next morning (Tuesday) I would do my first dive in the morning and then some theory in the afternoon.
So I started my diving lessons with - well, diving. We met at 9 am, got our gear, learned how to put it together and to put it back again, and then started diving... in the ocean. The school has a nice dock with calm water and there I did my first moves below the surface. And what can I say... I just loved it. And I still do love it very much. We did very much "skills" like going down, inflating our jacket, using alternate air-supply... such things. But in the end, we did a short little "dive" just swimming around and seeing the fish
In the afternoon, I had to catch up with the theory, as the other 2 in my class, Erica and Jeremy, had started with that already. I watched 5! PADI-Videos. But they were surprisingly little boring. On Wednesday we did some more skills and trying and getting used to diving in the morning in the shallow water of the dock. And in the afternoon we had our first 2 Open Water Dives. Well... the others had 2, I only had one, because I got so awfully seasick that I could not get in anymore.
On Thursday, we did our final test in the morning... I scored 92% hurray!!! And 2 more dives in the afternoon. I took some "Dramamin" which is against the seasickness and what can I say... it really helped - when being on the boat. This time I got really awfully seasick again... while floating on the surface of the ocean. I got down on the first dive, but did not feel well all the time, and had to ascend earlier than the others... and then I had to feed the fish and even needed help to get back to the boat. But thank god, we also had a group of "Rescue-Divers" on board who could have helped me... but Wendy was fully in charge and took me back to the boat.
Being back on the boat I felt much better, but not good enough to do the second dive of the afternoon. At least I had a good entertainment-programm with the rescue-class. They did a "diver lost his buddy, let's search for him and help him" session and it was really great fun watching it... and of course I also learned a bit just watching.
Today I had my last 2 dives... and finally I really could make 2 dives... they were great... we went down 18 meters (which is the max as a normal Open Water Diver) and saw many different fish... I really do like to blue ones... all of them. We saw the Rainbow-Fish and of course we also found Dora (I am still searching for Nemo).
And of course I am certified now... finally.
And now I know the trick how not to get seasick either on the boat or in the water: take the Dramamin about 2 hours before the boat leaves, don't eat anything before diving, don't drink anything with bubbles in it (like coke) and stay out of the sun and heat.
Knowing all this, the next dives are already planned... tomorrow I will start my 2 day journey to Nicaragua. I will use Managua as a hub... visit Granada and Leon from there and then, as soon as possible, depending on the weather forecast, fly out to the Corn Islands (small Islands in the Carribean). On little Corn Island I plan to stay one week... hopefully do the Advanced Open Water Diver (you need to do 5 adventure dives to be advanced) and chill at the many deserted beaches.
Oh... what I almost forgot to mention... today is "Bergfest" of my trip through central america. This means, I am right in the middle of it... 5 weeks over, 5 adventurous weeks ahead.
I will keep you posted... but I tend to be really chilled out right now... rather lying in a hammock and enjoying the breeze than sitting somewhere and updating my blog.
But first, I had to leave Copán. I chose the cheaper option which turned out to be a chicken-bus (old american yellow school bus) to San Pedro Sula and from there an express (supposed to be more modern, but well... supposed!!) bus which was definitely older and less comfortable than the chicken bus to go to "La Ceiba". There I finally had to decide and opted for Utila. I bought the ticket for the ferry and then had to wait.
Some really unfriendly man told us to pack our luggage on a small waggon so that it can be transported to the boat (they needed to transport it on the huge distance of 5! meters). The ferry itself is nothing special, it's small, completely closed and blue. It stinks inside... but at least I did not get seasick... I only felt a bit strange.
Arriving in Utila, about 10 people wanted to convince me, that their - and only their - diving school is the best one. I went with a guy who told me that his name is "Berlin" which I still do not believe and stayed at "Alton's". All the schools have more or less the same offer... come and stay, you have the first night free, so that you can "shop around" the next morning and decide for a school. Arriving at the school, I was greeted by a lovely instructor named Chris who told me everything about the school, how classes work, that they are the best because... blablabla....
Originally the plan was that I stay there for the first night and go find my school the next morning. But I was just so tired and the people seemend nice, the school was recommended in Lonely Planet, Sunset was perfect and the school was also recommended to me in Copan... so I just decided to stay there and get my certification there.
So on monday evening i already ment Wendy, a woman from Canada, who is working as a freelance-instructor with the school. Wendy isn't the youngest person anymore, but she is really lovely and caring and very experienced. We did some paperwork and then she told me that the next morning (Tuesday) I would do my first dive in the morning and then some theory in the afternoon.
So I started my diving lessons with - well, diving. We met at 9 am, got our gear, learned how to put it together and to put it back again, and then started diving... in the ocean. The school has a nice dock with calm water and there I did my first moves below the surface. And what can I say... I just loved it. And I still do love it very much. We did very much "skills" like going down, inflating our jacket, using alternate air-supply... such things. But in the end, we did a short little "dive" just swimming around and seeing the fish
In the afternoon, I had to catch up with the theory, as the other 2 in my class, Erica and Jeremy, had started with that already. I watched 5! PADI-Videos. But they were surprisingly little boring. On Wednesday we did some more skills and trying and getting used to diving in the morning in the shallow water of the dock. And in the afternoon we had our first 2 Open Water Dives. Well... the others had 2, I only had one, because I got so awfully seasick that I could not get in anymore.
On Thursday, we did our final test in the morning... I scored 92% hurray!!! And 2 more dives in the afternoon. I took some "Dramamin" which is against the seasickness and what can I say... it really helped - when being on the boat. This time I got really awfully seasick again... while floating on the surface of the ocean. I got down on the first dive, but did not feel well all the time, and had to ascend earlier than the others... and then I had to feed the fish and even needed help to get back to the boat. But thank god, we also had a group of "Rescue-Divers" on board who could have helped me... but Wendy was fully in charge and took me back to the boat.
Being back on the boat I felt much better, but not good enough to do the second dive of the afternoon. At least I had a good entertainment-programm with the rescue-class. They did a "diver lost his buddy, let's search for him and help him" session and it was really great fun watching it... and of course I also learned a bit just watching.
Today I had my last 2 dives... and finally I really could make 2 dives... they were great... we went down 18 meters (which is the max as a normal Open Water Diver) and saw many different fish... I really do like to blue ones... all of them. We saw the Rainbow-Fish and of course we also found Dora (I am still searching for Nemo).
And of course I am certified now... finally.
And now I know the trick how not to get seasick either on the boat or in the water: take the Dramamin about 2 hours before the boat leaves, don't eat anything before diving, don't drink anything with bubbles in it (like coke) and stay out of the sun and heat.
Knowing all this, the next dives are already planned... tomorrow I will start my 2 day journey to Nicaragua. I will use Managua as a hub... visit Granada and Leon from there and then, as soon as possible, depending on the weather forecast, fly out to the Corn Islands (small Islands in the Carribean). On little Corn Island I plan to stay one week... hopefully do the Advanced Open Water Diver (you need to do 5 adventure dives to be advanced) and chill at the many deserted beaches.
Oh... what I almost forgot to mention... today is "Bergfest" of my trip through central america. This means, I am right in the middle of it... 5 weeks over, 5 adventurous weeks ahead.
I will keep you posted... but I tend to be really chilled out right now... rather lying in a hammock and enjoying the breeze than sitting somewhere and updating my blog.
Antigua and Copan
Hey Guys,
I'm still alive... I just had some "challenges" concerning the internet. First it did not work in the hostel anymore, then my laptop did not want to connect for more than 10 seconds at a time. But some days ago, I "reseted" it to before the last "very important" Windows update... and here it is again, on and working.
So, what happened?
In Antigua nothing much happened. I spent my last week there, finished spanish classes with Plusquamperfecto del Subjuntivo (I know how to write it but have no idea when to use it) and then went off to Copán, Honduras, to see the ruins there.
So I went on a bus on a Saturday, it left at 4 o'clock in the morning and we arrived in Copán at 10 am. And it was sooooooo soooooo hot. Antigua was great because it cooled down in the evenings, but this never happened in Copan. There I met 2 nice british girls - Imogen and Zoe. In the afternoon we went to "The Pool" which is just a really small pool and belongs to a disco.
The next morning, I went to see the ruinas. They are not far away from the town itself... it's just a nice stroll along a nice shadowy path. The entrance fee is really expensive ( US $ 22 for the ruinas and Museum for foreigners). I am still not sure if it was worth it, as the pyramids are nothing, compared to Palenque or Tikal. But the museum was really nice, and cool.
In the afternoon, Imogen and I went to "Macaw Mountain" which is a bird park. They care for stressed parrots, gve them a home and time to recover. It was really nice, we saw many different birds, took lots of pictures and even had the chance to hold 2 parrots.
And that's it... the next morning (now monday) I went on the bus to La Ceiba and then on the ferry to Utila... but more on this in a separate post.
I'm still alive... I just had some "challenges" concerning the internet. First it did not work in the hostel anymore, then my laptop did not want to connect for more than 10 seconds at a time. But some days ago, I "reseted" it to before the last "very important" Windows update... and here it is again, on and working.
So, what happened?
In Antigua nothing much happened. I spent my last week there, finished spanish classes with Plusquamperfecto del Subjuntivo (I know how to write it but have no idea when to use it) and then went off to Copán, Honduras, to see the ruins there.
So I went on a bus on a Saturday, it left at 4 o'clock in the morning and we arrived in Copán at 10 am. And it was sooooooo soooooo hot. Antigua was great because it cooled down in the evenings, but this never happened in Copan. There I met 2 nice british girls - Imogen and Zoe. In the afternoon we went to "The Pool" which is just a really small pool and belongs to a disco.
The next morning, I went to see the ruinas. They are not far away from the town itself... it's just a nice stroll along a nice shadowy path. The entrance fee is really expensive ( US $ 22 for the ruinas and Museum for foreigners). I am still not sure if it was worth it, as the pyramids are nothing, compared to Palenque or Tikal. But the museum was really nice, and cool.
In the afternoon, Imogen and I went to "Macaw Mountain" which is a bird park. They care for stressed parrots, gve them a home and time to recover. It was really nice, we saw many different birds, took lots of pictures and even had the chance to hold 2 parrots.
And that's it... the next morning (now monday) I went on the bus to La Ceiba and then on the ferry to Utila... but more on this in a separate post.
Sonntag, 8. Mai 2011
1 week in Antigua
Wow... I've been here already for one week. Those days passed so fast.
I started with my Spanish classes on monday. My teacher is Rita, and we get along quite well. So apart from learning the grammar, we are also talking quite a bit. But about that later more.
Originally i planned to take 6 hours of classes every day. But as I was quite sick at the beginning of the week, I could not make it this week. I did not only burn my shoulders on Saturday, but I also got a light sunstroke and catched a really bad cold in the evening, as it can get quite cold in Antigua. Adding all this to my still existing (but not very bad) stomach problems, it was just too much.
So I went to the Spanish School in the morning, had 4 hours of classes and then went back to the hostel. I even made it back to the school in the afternoon to take part in the first activity, but being there, I just gave up. I went back home to my hostel, also skipping classes in the afternoon and went straight to bed.
I needed 3 days to more or less recover. So on Thursday, I finally participated in the my first activity. We went to a coffee plantation. There they also have a coffee museum and a museum about the Mayan music instuments. We had guided tours in both museums and it was quite interesting. But being me and being totally addicted to coffee, I liked most all the explanations about coffee. And of course, in the future, will be more careful about which coffee I will buy (the one from Brasil, obviously ;-) is really bad quality and all about money).
My Spanish classes are quite interesting as I am talking a lot with my teacher about the lives in Guatemala and Germany. She is going to university in the evening to become a lawyer, so this is also quite interesting for me. But what really totally shocked me: the students there were told to read "Mein Kampf" in order to understand the concept of nationalism. And they really like the book, think that it is interesting and has quite some interesting concepts and ideas. How can this be possible? First of all, how can anybody like this book, and second of all, how can a teacher officially tell his students to read the book for university?
This of course led to an interesting discussion about German history and the History of World War II.
Apart from that I realized that i am just used to go a much faster pace in learning in studying. But this would completely overwhelm my teacher, or all the other teachers I happened to know. So I decided to spend only one week more in Antigua and then finally head to the beach in Honduras, after spending 2/3 days in Copan ruinas.
Yesterday, I went hiking. Yes, you are not mistakten, Heidi went hiking without being forced. Of course nobody told me how high up we would go and how hard it would be, so I thought it should be okay. I went up the Volcano Pacaya. The views were great, sometimes it even was fun, but I was so so happy, when we finally reached the end and had a nice bread there were some of the others tried to roast some Marshmallows. Of course this was kind of impossible as there was no lava and no heat, but still it was fun.
The sad part of it was, that we just did not have enough time to enjoy the view and take really great pictures.
So at this time I have to declare my neverending love to my new camera. It just is the best. And it makes just great pictures (because it still is not me who makes good pix). So, when I come back, the fist thing I have to do is to get it professionally cleaned. All this volcano dirt is now on my camera and it really looks very used now.
Btw, you can find all the interesting pix of the last days on Facebook, it just takes too much time to upload them here and I do not like the way they are embedded in the text.
One last thing I would like to talk about today:
on Friday, I spent some time sitting in the Parque Central and watching the people. There are so many tourists, of course. But what I am really wondering about: why do people think, that they do not have to dress nicely/ normally when being on holiday? Really interesting what people think is clothes.
And why on earth, do especially female travelers who are way past their thirties think that they do not need to comb their hair, wash their faces and - worst of all - do not need to wear bras? This is really something nobody wants to see!!!!
(for Sebi: I am using the ctrl-C trick now)
I started with my Spanish classes on monday. My teacher is Rita, and we get along quite well. So apart from learning the grammar, we are also talking quite a bit. But about that later more.
Originally i planned to take 6 hours of classes every day. But as I was quite sick at the beginning of the week, I could not make it this week. I did not only burn my shoulders on Saturday, but I also got a light sunstroke and catched a really bad cold in the evening, as it can get quite cold in Antigua. Adding all this to my still existing (but not very bad) stomach problems, it was just too much.
So I went to the Spanish School in the morning, had 4 hours of classes and then went back to the hostel. I even made it back to the school in the afternoon to take part in the first activity, but being there, I just gave up. I went back home to my hostel, also skipping classes in the afternoon and went straight to bed.
I needed 3 days to more or less recover. So on Thursday, I finally participated in the my first activity. We went to a coffee plantation. There they also have a coffee museum and a museum about the Mayan music instuments. We had guided tours in both museums and it was quite interesting. But being me and being totally addicted to coffee, I liked most all the explanations about coffee. And of course, in the future, will be more careful about which coffee I will buy (the one from Brasil, obviously ;-) is really bad quality and all about money).
My Spanish classes are quite interesting as I am talking a lot with my teacher about the lives in Guatemala and Germany. She is going to university in the evening to become a lawyer, so this is also quite interesting for me. But what really totally shocked me: the students there were told to read "Mein Kampf" in order to understand the concept of nationalism. And they really like the book, think that it is interesting and has quite some interesting concepts and ideas. How can this be possible? First of all, how can anybody like this book, and second of all, how can a teacher officially tell his students to read the book for university?
This of course led to an interesting discussion about German history and the History of World War II.
Apart from that I realized that i am just used to go a much faster pace in learning in studying. But this would completely overwhelm my teacher, or all the other teachers I happened to know. So I decided to spend only one week more in Antigua and then finally head to the beach in Honduras, after spending 2/3 days in Copan ruinas.
Yesterday, I went hiking. Yes, you are not mistakten, Heidi went hiking without being forced. Of course nobody told me how high up we would go and how hard it would be, so I thought it should be okay. I went up the Volcano Pacaya. The views were great, sometimes it even was fun, but I was so so happy, when we finally reached the end and had a nice bread there were some of the others tried to roast some Marshmallows. Of course this was kind of impossible as there was no lava and no heat, but still it was fun.
The sad part of it was, that we just did not have enough time to enjoy the view and take really great pictures.
So at this time I have to declare my neverending love to my new camera. It just is the best. And it makes just great pictures (because it still is not me who makes good pix). So, when I come back, the fist thing I have to do is to get it professionally cleaned. All this volcano dirt is now on my camera and it really looks very used now.
Btw, you can find all the interesting pix of the last days on Facebook, it just takes too much time to upload them here and I do not like the way they are embedded in the text.
One last thing I would like to talk about today:
on Friday, I spent some time sitting in the Parque Central and watching the people. There are so many tourists, of course. But what I am really wondering about: why do people think, that they do not have to dress nicely/ normally when being on holiday? Really interesting what people think is clothes.
And why on earth, do especially female travelers who are way past their thirties think that they do not need to comb their hair, wash their faces and - worst of all - do not need to wear bras? This is really something nobody wants to see!!!!
(for Sebi: I am using the ctrl-C trick now)
Sonntag, 1. Mai 2011
From Mexico City to Antigua (Guatemala)
So, what did I do the last days?
I spent some wonderful last days in Mexico City. Especially the last night out with Paty, Carlos, Dani and Alex was really great. We went to a nice restaurant, had great food and a bottle of Tequila.
On Wednesday then I had to catch my plane to Viallhermosa and then the bus to Palenque. And there (in Palenque) it was so hot, I just had forgotten about that. On Thursday I of course first thing went to the ruins of Palenque. They were great as ever and i am quite sure, I will come back again, as I will definitely come back to Mexico.
Here are some pics of Palenque Ruins:
I spent some wonderful last days in Mexico City. Especially the last night out with Paty, Carlos, Dani and Alex was really great. We went to a nice restaurant, had great food and a bottle of Tequila.
On Wednesday then I had to catch my plane to Viallhermosa and then the bus to Palenque. And there (in Palenque) it was so hot, I just had forgotten about that. On Thursday I of course first thing went to the ruins of Palenque. They were great as ever and i am quite sure, I will come back again, as I will definitely come back to Mexico.
Here are some pics of Palenque Ruins:
The Plan was to go directly from Palenque to Antigua. But I had to realize that this was impossible. There is just no way around San Cristobal de las Casas. So I went there again, the third time now. Good, that it's just a lovely small city in Chiapas.
So I bought a ticket for the bus on Friday morning at 9. Of course I was at the bus station on time (a little past 8) in order not to miss the bus. At the bus station I met a nice german couple who also wanted to go to San Cristobal. 10 min before 9 I was trying to find out if our bus was already there... well, I was told that there was a little problem and the bus would not come at all. But there is another one, which should leave at 9:10, buuut... this one is late and is supposed to come betwenn 9:30 and 10:00 a.m. So we waited and waited and chatted and so on. At some point there was a lady going round the busstation asking all the people where they wanted to go. We told her our destination, but no reaction at all.
At 10, I tried to find out about this other bus. The lady at the counter told me that she would tell me when it arrived. Okay for us. Suddenly this other lady who was asking about our destination told us, that there was a bus leaving at 10, but there were only 2 seats left, so we can't go.
I followed her to tell her that I can also travel alone and would really like to be on the bus... so I got a place and left for San Cristobal 1 hour late.
The journey was 5 hours, which I tried to sleep most of the time in order not to get sick of the driving style.
Arriving at the bus station in San Cristobal I went to the very first travel agency I saw and got my ticket to Antigua for the next day (Saturday). This travel angency "happened" to work together with a hostel and as it was a cheap and supposedly nice one I decided to take this hostel (especially as they were even paying me the taxi to the hostel). So using this blog, if you ever travel to San Cristobal, I just can recomment Planet Hostel. It's not very far from the Zocala, it's cheap and clean and Alex, the guy who is working in the travel agency is really nice.
I did a little bit of "sight-seeing", but I did know the city already, so there was nothing new to see. I spent the evening watching THE royal wedding with some other girls and - of course - meeting some German people in the hostel.
At the next morning (Saturday now) I was picked up at my hostel a little past 8 by the van and the journey to Antigua began. I was told that it would take 9-10 hours...well that wasn't exactly the truth. The journey took 12 hours and I arrived in Antigua at 7 p.m. As Guatemala is not using daylight-saving-time, I am now 8 hours behind Germany and it was already totally dark when we arrived.
The bus driver stopped at the Convent Santa Catalina and we all had to leave the bus. I asked him if he could tell me where my hostel is and help me get a taxi. He was very "helpful" and told me that it's muy lejos (far away) and that a Taxi would cost me 30 Quetzales (3 €) and that he would take me there for 25.
Well, today I was walking through Antigua a lot, and I realized that my hostel is only 10 minutes walking distance from the convent. So he made good money with me (ums auf Deutsch zu sagen, er hat mich voll abezockt).
My hostel is really nice, i have private room, but shared bathroom. Still the bathrooms are really clean and spacious and have real hot water. But the best thing about it is the rooftop terrace with its bar. The view there is just great and I just don't want to miss it. That's why I decided to stay there for the next 2 weeks - if they change my matress. Daniella, who runs the hostel promised me to change it tomorrow. We will see.
The mission for today was finding a language school to start my spanish lessons. The bad thing was that it's May 1st today - labour day even in Guatemala so most of the schools I wanted to see were closed. But one was open, the people running it are really nice and they promised me, that they will have a suitabel teacher for me. So starting tomorrow at 8 a.m. I will be a student again doing some serious studying. I will have 6 hours of studying every day and 2 hours of activities (like seeing the sights in and around Antigua, going to a macadamia nuts farm, coffee farm, learning to make tortillas...) we will see if I like them or not.
So the day was pretty good today. The only bad thing - I got my first sunburn. Until today I was pretty careful about using sunscreen and avoiding too much sun, but today... I burnt my shoulders and the top of my nose... looks a bit funny. I didn't realize it until I was back at the hostel. So I hope it's not too bad.
And I bought a sombrero - Panama style, to describe it. I'll try and post a picture of it soon.
So the next days will be pretty busy for me learning spanish and getting to know Antigua. It's a really small place so I guess I will see every single part of it. My objective is, to make many great pictures of the well known and also not so well known places of Antigua.
Dienstag, 26. April 2011
Easter in Guanajuato State
I spent Easter with Paty, Carlos and the family of Carlos in his hometown, Cortazar, which is in the state of Guanajuato north of Mexico City.
We went there on Thursday, taking a bus.
We arrived at the house round 6 in the afternoon, and of course, got something to eat first (great food).
We spent the evening talking about this and that and drinking Tequila ;-)
The next day, we went on a short trip to San Miguel de Allende, which is a lovely little city, but full of visitors for Easter. We also had our food somewhere on the way, again thanks a lot to Carlos Mum!
Somewhere on the road to San Miguel
Carlos Dad
San Miguel
On Saturday, we all slept long and then went to the family's ranch to barbecue and have a great time. We ate a lot, drank some rum and just had a great time doing nothing, talking a lot, lauging a lot and enjoying the sunset.
Carlos preparing the food
We went there on Thursday, taking a bus.
We arrived at the house round 6 in the afternoon, and of course, got something to eat first (great food).
We spent the evening talking about this and that and drinking Tequila ;-)
The next day, we went on a short trip to San Miguel de Allende, which is a lovely little city, but full of visitors for Easter. We also had our food somewhere on the way, again thanks a lot to Carlos Mum!
Somewhere on the road to San Miguel
Having Lunch
On Saturday, we all slept long and then went to the family's ranch to barbecue and have a great time. We ate a lot, drank some rum and just had a great time doing nothing, talking a lot, lauging a lot and enjoying the sunset.
Carlos preparing the food
The wonderful sunset at the ranch.
In the evening we went to teh "City Center" for Dinner, and I had finally Esquites, and I loved it.
On Sunday morning, unfortunately, we had to go back to Mexico again. I would have loved to stay longer. Thanks soooo much to Carlos Parents.
Today now is my last day in Mexico City. Tomorrow I catch a plane to Villahermosa and then a bus to Palenque.
Abonnieren
Kommentare (Atom)